Happy 4th of July!

Standard

 

I love the 4th of July.  Fireworks, apple pie with vanilla ice-cream, and hamburgers just seem to make the perfect day.  With a small infant, however, going to see fireworks just did not happen. We bought Jasmine sparklers and noise makers (the ones you throw on the ground to pop), and we had a blast playing outside and watching the neighborhood fireworks.  Then, we read parts of If You Were There When…They Signed the Constitution.  However, finding that book choice was not easy.  I should have planned ahead and purchased a book online, but I didn’t.  I figured we could go up to the local bookstore and find a good one on display.  To my disappointment, there was not a single patriotic display!!!!  I was astounded – how can a bookstore in America not try to display at least a few patriotic books for such a patriotic day.  It got worse when I could not find anything about the 4th of July.  I looked for Betsy Ross, and they had nothing either (although since it was last minute, I will assume they were just sold out of those).  When I asked the sales associate, she had no ideas for me and had already tried to locate patriotic books for other customers.  If we can find time to set up a display about Valentine’s Day, I think we should be kind enough to set up one for the 4th!  I should email customer service….Anyway, does anyone know of any good books for next year?  I would love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

