Love Dare Day 7

Standard

Dare:  For today’s dare, get two sheets of paper.  On the first one, spend a few minutes writing out the positive things about your spouse.  Then do the same things on the second sheet.  Place both sheets in a secret place for another day.  There is a different purpose and plan for each.  At some point during the remainder of the day, pick a positive attribute from the first list and thank your spouse for having this characteristic.

Background:  How much time do we spend thinking about the negative things our spouse does?  How much time do we spend thinking about the positive things?  If you are anything like me, I bet you spend more time thinking about the negative things than the positive things.  It is so easy to see our spouse’s negative attributes, yet we forget to take time to think about everything good they do.  Even if our spouse has many faults, they also have a few redeeming qualities.  Let us spend more time dwelling on the positive and start giving grace for their downsides.  Kendrick explains, “As you choose to mediate on the positives, you will learn that many more wonderful character qualities could be written…this is a crucial step as you learn to lead your heart to truly love your spouse.”  We do this because we love them, not because they deserve it.

My Experience:  I thought this dare would be easy to complete.  I was sure that my negative list would be longer than my positive list.  However, as I started thinking about my spouse, I found it was not hard finding things I loved about him.  My positive list ended up being longer than my negative list.  Once my lists were composed, I found a second to thank my spouse for one of his positive attributes.  Although he kind of brushed the compliment off, I hope that he knows how much he is appreciated.

Which list was harder for you to write?  How did your husband react to being thanked for something?

Leave a Reply

